Ashton Court (photo: Peggy Stembridge)

Avon Gardens Trust seeks to protect and conserve the historic designed landscape that includes parks, gardens, open spaces and cemeteries. Within our area there are 39 sites that appear in the Historic England Register of Parks and Gardens of Special Historic Interest in England, four of which are listed as Grade 1 as they are of exceptional importance (for details click here).

There are also another 260 sites in our Gazetteer of Historic Parks and Gardens in Avon which are of local importance as they have historic, horticultural, arboricultural, ecological, architectural or archaeological values.

To search the Parks and Gardens database of all listed locations in the UK, click here

A Brief History of Avon

The County of Avon was formed in 1974, taking in the city (and former county) of Bristol, the southern part of Gloucestershire and the northern part of Somerset, including the city of Bath. It took its name from the River Avon which flows from the east, through Bath and Bristol to the Severn estuary to the west. It comprised six districts: Northavon to the north; Woodspring to the south west; Wansdyke to the south east; Bristol; Bath and Kingswood.

Following local government reorganisation in 1996, Avon was replaced by four new unitary authorities, roughly following the boundaries of the former districts: Kingswood and Northavon became South Gloucestershire; Bath and Wansdyke became Bath & North East Somerset; Woodspring became North Somerset (principally administered from Weston-super-Mare) while Bristol regained its historic county status.

Whatever its governmental status, Avon remains an area of diverse landscapes. From the Cotswold Hills to the north, to the Mendip Hills to the south and between them both the thriving urban sprawl of Bristol and the Georgian splendour of Bath. It is, perhaps, as rich as any in terms of historic parks and gardens of national, if not international, significance.

Local Authority Websites

Bath & North East
Somerset Council